Paul McKenna “I can make you thin” Review – Day 1

This is my first attempt to follow the Paul McKenna “I can make you thin”‘ principles. This attempt didn’t succeed. I tried again in March 2009, and this time it worked. If you want to read the successful trial, click here.

***

When I woke up this morning, I was very determined to start this trial, as I said in my previous post.

Breakfast: I had a couple of toasts with strawberry jam, after which I still felt hungry, so I had a yogurt with real sugar and then I felt full.

I went to the gym and did one hour of cardio on the elliptic machine. I selected a level that was easy but hard enough to make my heart beat faster and sweat profusely.

After the gym, I went to McDonald’s and ordered a McDeluxe menu (that’s what they’re called in France, I don’t know about other places) with a salad and a Perrier drink. The book says that if you trust your body and your instincts, you will naturally know what you should eat. Those are the reasons why I didn’t choose the fries or a sugar drink. Neither were compelling to me. However, I felt like I need some meat, that why I took a burger. I ate the entire salad. Then I started eating the burger and at half way through, I thought: I’d rather eat only the steak and I’ll eat the rest if I’m still hungry after. So that’s what I did, and I didn’t want the buns after that, so I left them on the tray and left.

Throughout the afternoon, I had some moments of hunger and I ate food such as: half an apple, a yogurt, a slice of cheese on bread. Everytime, I only took something that I found really appealing to my senses, I took the time to enjoy it and I stopped when I was full.

Towards the end of the afternoon, the hunger grew bigger, but I wanted to wait for dinner, because I was meeting someone at the restaurant, and I wanted to be hungry there to enjoy the food. I took a piece of veal with mashed potatoes, and I ate the entire plate. I took the time to enjoy it, but I didn’t really feel full until the plate was finished; towards the end, even if I wasn’t hungry per say, I wasn’t full, so I kept eating it. It seems like there is room for negotiation with yourself on when exactly the limit is between being hungry and being full. However, the principle says: “when you think you are full, stop eating”, which is what I followed.

Leave a Reply

