Paul McKenna “I can make you thin” Review – Day 2

This is my first attempt to follow the Paul McKenna “I can make you thin”‘ principles. This attempt didn’t succeed. I tried again in March 2009, and this time it worked. If you want to read the successful trial, click here.

***

Woke up this morning really hungry. I went to the local bakery and I bought a “pain au chocolat” (a chocolate croissant, the English call it)… This pastry is so thick and greasy that only a few bites are enough to fill the stomach and make the hunger go away. Again, I took the time to enjoy every bite, every mouthful.

Completely unaware that I started this trial, my sister forwarded me a blog post of a girl who has decided to eat what she likes and to never do a diet ever again. It is a post in French, titled “Pourquoi je me suis violemment opposée à toute forme de regime amaigrissant“, in which the author describes that she has reached a certain weight and she’s happy with it. She doesn’t go by society’s standards, she is happy with herself and her looks.

While reading it, I had a couple of mixed feelings: on the one hand, I admired her achievement and I would also love to look at myself in the mirror and not be critical. On the other hand, I thought: “yeah but I’m doing this trial to loose weight, not to be at the weight that is comfortable for me to be”… I think my head is still polluted by the idea that to look better, I need to be at a certain level on the scale (to be honest, I know I am more seductive when I weigh a bit less). It will be interesting to see if my thinking evolves in this 30 day trial. Maybe the fact that I shouldn’t weigh myself more than twice a month will help me change that mindset; today, I really want to step on it to see if there are any results from yesterday-

For lunch, I made an appealing plate, that had white rice, vegetables, more vegetables and some cheese; took to the time to enjoy everymouthful. I finished my plate, which worries me, since Paul McKenna mentions that plates are usually not finished when you listen to your stomach! Fact is, I was still hungry. After that, I treated myself with a bit of chocolate. Later in the afternoon, I often felt some hunger and grabbed a bite or two of something to eat in the kitchen.

I feel calm in my relationship with food today, so let’s hope it stays that way. Many times I have felt boredom today and was tempted to eat, but told myself that I wasn’t really hungry…

Went to the gym and exercized on the eliptic machine for 45 minutes. I didn’t do the last 45 because I was bored out of my mind. On the way back, I bought a Mister Freeze, but felt full only after a very small portion of it.

All day, I’ve been so tempted about going on the scale to check my weight. It’s funny, but it makes me realize that I only saw the result of being healthy as a quantitive result (i.e. a number on a scale) rather than a qualitative one (what it will feel like)- By not allowing myself to go on the scale, I have no choice but to focus on the quality of the experience: my inner feelings, the appreciation of the food, etc.

Later today, during and after dinner, I had some alcohol and I applied the same rules. I actually noticed how alcohol can make you full. I didn’t finish a beer as it felt so heavy on my stomach. It’s not surprising, since there is so many calories in Alcohol… but unless you pay attention to it, you can’t realize how much it actually fills you up.

Leave a Reply

