Paul McKenna “I can make you thin” Review – Day 7

This is my first attempt to follow the Paul McKenna “I can make you thin”‘ principles. This attempt didn’t succeed. I tried again in March 2009, and this time it worked. If you want to read the successful trial, click here.

***

I am really enjoying the mental strength that this method is giving me. I mentioned a few times that forcing myself to not look at the scale helped me focus on the mental/emotional/psychological aspects of my food habits (rather than the quantitave aspects such as number of calories, food category, kilograms lost or gained, etc). And indeed, this trial is giving me some psychological weapons to use in vulnerable situations.

For example, yesterday, as I was preparing for my upcoming interviews, I had a moment of stress. I started to go towards the kitchen, but on the way checked with my stomach. Am I hungry? the answer was yes, so I went to eat a slice of bread; but then, the stress tried to take over and I cut myself an even bigger piece of bread. I asked my stomach if I needed it, and the answer was no, but I felt a compulsion to eat it. Then I asked myself: “who do I want to listen to? my stomach or my fear?” I chose my stomach and refused to obey to my fear, so therefore, I did not eat that piece of bread.

Among, these victories, I also make some mistakes; I have told in this blog about them, and I made another one on Day 7. I went cycling for 3 hours and it was a sport effort, as I was going up a moutain called “Mont Salève”.

Mont Salève

Mont Salève

It’s a hard one! I came back home and I was starving, which was quite normal. I had just spent so much energy. However, at some point, my stomach was full, but again, I kept on eating and my excuse in my head was “I just did this exhausting exercize, now I can do what the f*#$ I want!” and I fell into the trap of eating too much. It is as if my exercize had made me feel powerful, and that power was giving me the right to overeat, as if I was some kind of superman, whose stomach eliminates food faster than a normal being.

I’m really grateful that I am making these mistakes, because I can really identify the psychological traps in which I am used to falling into, and then learn to avoid them. So far, my triggers of overeating were: fear, joy, feeling of power, boredom.

The reason why I write about such personal feelings in this blog is because I think many people who are struggling with weight loss mostly struggle with their emotions and feelings. So I am hoping that you will be able to identify well with what I am going through, and that it will help you sort out your own issues. I also write this because it helps me see clear in my own feelings.

Leave a Reply

