Paul McKenna “I can make you thin” Review – Days 8 and 9

This is my first attempt to follow the Paul McKenna “I can make you thin”‘ principles. This attempt didn’t succeed. I tried again in March 2009, and this time it worked. If you want to read the successful trial, click here.

***

Ok, let’s just start by saying: I haven’t been doing good on the trial the past two days. I.e., I have come back to old eating habits, i.e. eating that obeys to my emotions, rather than my hunger.

I thought about deleting the blog completely because I felt embarrassed, but then I thought: well, it may be that I am getting to the core of the issue and that my experience could benefit some people. I’m sure other people are in my situation.

On the first post of the blog, I wrote about the website of Steve Pavlina. He always seems to be writing articles that are completely relevant to my current situation. His latest one deals with the fact that if you fail to change a habit, it is because you probably didn’t do the preliminary work completely. He uses the metaphor of chess playing to say that everygame has three phases: the early game, the middle game and the end game. And he wrote that only in the end game should you attempt to do a 30-day trial to change a habit. (check out the post: Habit Change Is Like Chess)

So maybe I should have made some preliminary work before I started with the trial. But now that I have done a week of it, and that some people are actually reading this blog (amazing, after only a week) I have decided to not give up and carry on the experiment. And take some time to do the early and middle game work that I didn’t do.

I sat down in front of the computer, with my strategist hat on. I felt like Napoleon about to wage a battle. I read in a book the process to set an objective with a winning scenario in mind. So, I’ll write about the steps that I went through:

1. Formulate your objective in a positive and precise manner

I want to have a healthy body and a healthy weight of 80 kg.
(this actual number can be adapted in the future, but right now, this is the direction I’m going).

2. What does this objective mean to me?

It means that I will have a more positive image of myself and that I will be happy to present my body to other people.

3. What is the concrete context of your goal?

Where? Anywhere in the world. As I tend to travel a lot, change environment often, this should be achieved wherever I am living.
When? As soon as possible.

4. How will I know that I have achieved my goal?

I will see a body without fat in the mirror. I will see it on the scale.

5. What will I see, what will I hear, what will I feel?

I will feel more energetic. I will feel lighter so it will be easy to take on exercise. I will be able to achieve more throughout the day.
I will hear congratulations from people who knew me heavy.
I will feel more confident.

6. What will this objective bring me?

The confidence to look at and talk to a stunning woman.
Ask my sporty friends to take part in their physical activities, feeling confident that I will be able to do the same things they do.
Be happy to show my body (at the beach, during a hot summer day, while making love…)
Unconsciously follow a healthy eating pattern that allowed me to reach and stay at my objective.

7. Does this objective depend on me?

Yes.

8. Am I aware of the price to pay to achieve my objective? Have I accepted this price?

First, give up on numbing strategies; numbing myself with tons of food is actually a good way to deal with my stress. Giving up on it creates more stress, as it gives a feeling of being lost.
Second, to actually dedicate time to finding coping strategies to emotional distress.
Third, to actually break my natural tendency to isolate myself, and be more open to the world. (outside of partying activities)

***

Further early game work

I’ve been reading about weight loss for 10 years, so I have a good picture on the different methods that are available. And in my context, the Paul McKenna method is the one that made more sense, so I still want to go with it (even though the first week has not been so good).

After doing some research on the Internet, here are the different ways to cope with stress that appealed to me:

  • Exercize your mind and your body
  • Talk to somebody, build a support network
  • Practice relaxation techniques
  • Look for humor in the situation

These are tools that are now available to me next time I have a panic attack, or feel emotionally overwhelmed; I will blog here to say if I was able to resort to them, and how well they worked.

Finally, I want to take a moment to push the strategy preparation further:

I said in my objective that I want to be able to ask friends to take part in sport activities with them. I don’t need to wait to be slim and sporty to do this (depending on the sport obviously). I take the pledge to call 5 friends and ask them.

Also, do I need to wait to be slim and healthy to look at a stunning woman with confidence? I’d like to take a similar pledge, but first, I’ve got to find the answer to that question: where are the stunning women?

***

I will keep you posted on my journey!

PS: Paul McKenna book actually describes stress coping exercizes, which I’ve always overlooked as “not important”… I’ll use those as well and talk about it in the blog.

Leave a Reply

