Paul McKenna “I can make you thin” Review – Day 13

This is my first attempt to follow the Paul McKenna “I can make you thin”‘ principles. This attempt didn’t succeed. I tried again in March 2009, and this time it worked. If you want to read the successful trial, click here.

***

Some great news, BUT I have to make a confession:

Even though I was supposed to weigh myself on Day 15, I did it today, because I’m going on holiday tomorrow and I don’t know what the scale situation will be. So the good news is: I lost 2 kilos. It’s not a whole lot, but considering that the first 10 days I did so poorly with the rules, as I was adjusting to what I call “my new life”, it’s pretty good.

***

Paul McKenna encourages us to imagine us as slim, try to imagine the feelings that our healthy body will have, and try to experience those feelings now. That’s what I talked about in previous posts when I mentioned confidence vis à vis the opposite sex, and also the confidence to ask friends to partake in healthy activities. However, I realize that for a major switch to a healthy lifestyle from unhealthy habits, I have to take my imagination much further and try to envision as many details as possible of what it means to be thin. For example, that’s what enabled me to figure out that in moments of boredom, the only way to break with the “eat-when-bored” pattern was to find something compelling to occupy my brain, and that’s how I had the idea to look into logic/strategy puzzles and chess.

Also, today I remembered what I learned in a class about individuals who are Type A people and who will get stressed no matter what: it’s in their nature! I clearly identified myself in that section and the teacher said that type A people need to learn coping behaviours… and he was suggesting going for a walk. That’s exactly what I did today when the tension was coming up and I felt relieved after 1/2 hour.

I have the impression that to succeed, I have to take the level of details much further: when at a dinner with the family and I’m feeling strong negative emotions, what will I do? When coming back at night and exhausted so I can’t begin to do a brain exercize, but I don’t want to go to sleep, what should I do? etc etc This allows to plan ahead and find coping strategies/occupations in order to live my new healthy life. I’m a bit disappointed that McKenna stays at the surface on those topics and doesn’t go for a more thorough push of the imagination. In the hypnotic induction he says “your unconscious will naturally find ways to adapt”… but I think that if you don’t sit down and consciously think about it, sometimes with the help of a pen and paper, you will not find these ways…

One Response to “Paul McKenna “I can make you thin” Review – Day 13”

  1. PBW Says:

    Hope your weigh-in goes well. I’m on Day 2.

    Cheering you on!!!!!

Leave a Reply

