Paul McKenna “I can make you thin” Review – Days 14 to 18

This is my first attempt to follow the Paul McKenna “I can make you thin”‘ principles. This attempt didn’t succeed. I tried again in March 2009, and this time it worked. If you want to read the successful trial, click here.

***

I haven’t written in a few days as I am travelling in the middle East (Israel to be more precise) and I haven’t had the chance to sit down in front of a computer long enough to write a post… Instead, I’ve been hiking through Jerusalem, visited the Dead Sea and enjoyed some spa treatment there, and enjoying the bustling nightlife of Tel Aviv… Life’s too hard sometimes.

Anyway, being healthy in Israel is like trying to juggle when you have no coordination. Humus and pita at every meal: breakfast, lunch and dinner. My mind went crazy for a few days as the abundance of food laid in front of me at every moment of the day… Mediterranean cultures cannot NOT give you food for 4 people.

After a few days of this treatment, my mind created a need for healthy food. I woke up two days ago and all I could envision were fresh and raw vegetables. I don’t know if I should credit this to Paul McKenna and his hypnotic induction, but I can say that I indeed have images of very healthy food in my mind, as if my subconscious created these pictures to steer away from the unhealthy food.

There are moments though, when I don’t feel 100% compelled to go healthy… I know I want it, but I don’t see the point of it all. I don’t have an exciting need in me that really pushed me to be healthy. I don’t know why, because I get quite depressed when unhealthy: I want to be able to exercize more easily, I want to like my self image, but this seems like an “under goal” (if there is a hierarchy of goals)… Sometimes I imagine that if I had a supreme goal, call it a meta-goal, all the other goals would be aligned with this one. I.e. being healthy would be a means to attain that meta-goal.  Which is another way of saying: I don’t think my life has very much sense and I don’t see how being healthy would add more sense to it. I can’t see it as being the central meaning of my existence.

Leave a Reply

