Paul McKenna “I can make you thin” Review – Days 26 to 30

This is my first attempt to follow the Paul McKenna “I can make you thin”‘ principles. This attempt didn’t succeed. I tried again in March 2009, and this time it worked. If you want to read the successful trial, click here.

***

Over the past few days, I have been thinking about the issue of self discipline. Indeed, even if the principles of the Paul McKenna system seem fairly easy, they require a good deal of self-discipline to follow. In my mind, discipline has always been associated to the idea of military, which gives it a negative connotation. to me, military is aggressivity, violence and suffering. Military people are among the most disciplined people: they have a daily routine of exercize and training that they follow unfailingly. They have very organized processes for even the most simple tasks (how to make a bed, for example). The result is that they are very efficient in the tasks that they are trained to do.

If there is a negative connotation to the military, why then should I become discipline myself? I don’t want to harm anybody, I don’t want to provoke violence. I am not an aggressive person. But then I thought that the military is not only here to attack. In European countries, the military exists mostly for the purpose of defending, in case there is aggression from another country. We could discuss the European engagement in Afghanistan, but let’s skip this question right now, the point is that ideologically, the army exists for defensive purposes. In France, the authority that governs the army is called “Le ministère de la défense”, the defense ministry. This made me think that there could be a positive, virtuous connotation associated with self-discpline.

Now, what are my unhealthy habits, but an attack on my health, and therefore on my happiness? There is a part of me that wants me to be unhealthy and therefore it is making me unhappy. I see this today as an aggression on myself, and that therefore this aggression should be fought against with strong self discipline.

What does this mean exactly? It means I must not compromise with the rules I decide to follow. If I choose these rules for a certain period of time, then I stick to them. (I compromised a lot during the trial). For the purpose of becoming healthier, daily exercize are also a must (more to come about this, I’ve got a little surprise for you in the next few days, stay tuned!). You get the idea. Firmness and discipline are positive qualities when to comes to defending oneself against aggression on my own happiness.

Leave a Reply

