100% Success trial – Days 21 and 22

For 30 days, I have decided to only undertake tasks that I know I can successfully accomplish, in order to bring success in my life, and see if the common sense saying: “Success breeds more success” is true.

I mentioned earlier that my sending cover letters ended up in booking a few interview and I just had my first one.

On day 21, I had a task that said: “Spend 1/2 hour thinking about what could be 100% successful at the interview”. After the 1st session, I wasn’t completely satisfied, so I did another session later, and was happy with it.

As usual with this trial, I came up with a list of things I couldn’t possibly screw up. It included:

  • show up at the interview
  • say hello
  • introduce myself
  • take out a notepad to take notes
  • talk about 3 specific points (I’m not gonna disclose them here), that are selling points about myself
  • ask the following 3 questions (same)
  • be ready to answer the 3 stupid interview questions (what are your strengths, weaknesses, how do you see yourself in 5 years), but only talk about it if sollicited
  • say good bye

I thought I could manage to succeed in this.

Day 22, I go to the interview, with only one mission: make sure the above goals are fulfilled; that’s it. I don’t care whether they give me a job, whether they like me, etc… Of course, I want them to like me, but I don’t go in with the objective: “I’m going to try and have them like me”. I consider that only the above list is my responsibility.

The interview went very well. I mean, it was one of the greatest interviews I’ve ever had. First of all, I was relaxed. Second, even though they were a lot of unexpected questions, my relaxation attitude allowed me to handle them well. Third, the job description exceeded my expectations. I thought I was going in for something really technical (follow up on search engine marketing campaigns), but it actually involves setting up a whole new section for the company. It is entrepreneurial, but still hedged by a company. It looks like I may get an offer that includes a base salary and some shares of the company. So I get to work for myself, but I also get a bit of security. Really, it was a perfect balance. I really hope we can agree on an offer, as it would be a nice way to finish this job search. If not, i’ll just continue what I’ve been doing for 3 weeks!

On the writing front, I’m at 7,400 words! Can’t believe I’ve achieved that already…

2 Responses to “100% Success trial – Days 21 and 22”

  1. ibe Says:

    I came accross your blog yesterday while searching on PMCKENNA “I can make you thin”.
    I actually totally agree with you when you say that he remains very superficial on the visualisation and how to cope with cravings, etc. Also, I attended his workshop last saturday and was very disappointed with the demo of one exercise… The “mirror exercise”. I guess you’ll know what I’m talking about. Guess what, he called a very cute-blond-only a couple of kilos to lose-funny-young girl on stage for the demonostration. I can only imagine that this exercise would be much easier to practise and master for this girl than any 150kg guy desperate to lose 50kgs or more…
    Having said this, I believe his method is great and makes sense. I’ll give it a go. Reading your trial of it and the following helps a lot filling the gaps PMCK leaves in his book and CD. Cheers.
    I read through your entire blog with great interest and amusement. Now I’ve reached the last and most recent page, I feel “sur ma faim”!!! I’m looking forward to reading more… Don’t leave too many days between articles!

  2. thirtydaytrials Says:

    Wow! this is the kind of comment I like to read! writing this blog is like sending messages in bottles in the internet sea, and sometimes I get unexpected feedback from people who actually read this! Awesome… Funny thing is, it’s another Frenchie!

    So you actually attended the seminar… I have thought about it, thinking that maybe I would get some enlightment I don’t get in the book, but I guess I won’t.

    I have to say, I haven’t completely figured out how to use this 100% success trial thing with my health and weight. It works with everything else! I just don’t know what little targets I could set myself with regards to health… I feel like it’s something that you have to follow on a constant basis, 24h/day, and I can’t see the little actions I could do successfully here and there to move towards this goal.

    I usually try to blog everyday, but when you’re stranded hours at airport because Eurostar doesn’t work, and Easy Jet has decided to be late 2-3 hours for each flight, it gets tricky to post new articles!

Leave a Reply

