100% Success trial – Day 29 and 30

For 30 days, I have decided to only undertake tasks that I know I can successfully accomplish, in order to bring success in my life, and see if the common sense saying: “Success breeds more success” is true.

Spent the last two days going to an interview and then networking at an e-commerce fair in Paris.

First, the interview. It was prepared according to my 100% success methodolgy! Just focused on the things I was 100% sure to succeed (i.e. questions to ask, selling points about myself, structure my speech when talking about my background). It helped me be relaxed, and I think I connected with these people well. Weird thing is, the day after I wrote on my blog: “somebody gives me a job managing a salesteam”, I got called for this interview, which consists partly of managing a salesteam. It’s for a position in Paris, which is not ideal for me, as my city of choice is London. But there is a time when a man has got to start working and stop playing around !!

Second, the e-commerce fair in Paris. I first went without a strategy. Just to get info on the latest trends of e-businesses, and maybe with the back of the mind idea to network. After a couple of hours, there were 3 companies I wanted to talk to. One because I have an interview with them on Friday (for their Brussels office) and I wanted to fish for info. The other two because they are interesting companies that I would enjoy working for.

I was nervous about going to meet them, but I prepared a list of points that I was sure to do, like say hello, shake hands, and then a few ideas and questions to place in the conversation. The two networking encounters went well, as they both gave me their business cards and asked to receive my CV. One suggested that I go and look on their website for opportunities.

Which is what I did, and there I saw THE perfect position. A position that is appealing in the job description, in London, for an awesome brand name company, in a sector that highly interests me (traditional and new media). A position for which I don’t feel underqualified, nor overqualified. What can I say, it just felt right!

It’s a shame this job posting comes on the last day of the trial, because I would have liked to conclude the 30 days by saying: “hey, I got the perfect job!” Part of me doesn’t want to feel too excited, lest I shouldn’t get the interview… but part of me is feeling jumpy, like I haven’t felt about careers for months!

Anyway, the faithful readers will of course be updated… Concluding thoughts at next post.

2 Responses to “100% Success trial – Day 29 and 30”

  1. ibe Says:

    Do indeed keep us posted! I certainly want to hear about the outcome of your job search. Finger crossed on this last development.
    So… what’s the next trial going to be?!?

  2. thirtydaytrials Says:

    I’m not sure yet! Still thinking about it…!

Leave a Reply

