Accounting for my expenses trial – Day 2

For 30 days, I’ve decided to watch and account for all my expenses.

Today, I was out of the office for the whole afternoon, visiting a warehouse. In the middle of it, I really felt like spending my money in their soda vending machine, but then thought that it would be accounted in the evening, and therefore, I lost the will to buy a can.

I decided to account for expenses that I have made, but that I expect to be reimbursed: such as work expenses, or an overpayment of utilities that my landlord will give back to me. Why? Because accounting for it makes me want to chase it more, instead of just giving up on it. Also I am probably paying interest on those expenses (haven’t quite yet recovered from the post-MBA period of unemployement) and therefore, it will be good to see the extent of my interest expense.

As of day 2, here is what constitutes my spending:

expenses_day_2

I am a bit afraid at the amount I have spent in only 2 days, even though I know I’m going to get a lot of it back…

Leave a Reply

