Accounting for my expenses trial – Day 17

For 30 days, I’ve decided to watch and account for all my expenses.

Yesterday, I talked about budgeting, and I realized a couple of hours later, that I’m going to have to allow a budget line for unexpected emergencies… Let me explain. Something really stupid happened to me: I turned off my phone to take the plane, and when I turned it back on, I put in 3 times the wrong pin code, so now it is locked. The problem is that I was stuck in a foreign city, and I swiped my credit card at least 5 or 6 times at a public pay phone to attempt to reach my friends on their mobiles… I’m not sure how much the phone company charges for that, but I’m pretty sure it’s way over what it should be. Then I realized: what if I need emergency funds for something more important? Like medical expenditure for instance… This makes me feel quite vulnerable. Right now, I know I could rely on my family if I had to, but a) I don’t like that thought and b) until when?

Leave a Reply

