Go see “Welcome,” by Philippe Lioret

I love side notes, and I often share in this blog elements of my life that don’t really have a direct connection to the trials I’m doing.

A few times I have mentioned films that I go to see. The fact is that I am a big movie buff, and in Paris there exists a great subscription system with which you can have unlimited movie going for a monthly fee. Needless to say, I take great advantage of it !

Welcome, by Philippe Lioret

I can’t remember the last time I got excited about a French movie. Well, actually, it was last summer. But last summer was 8 months ago ! So my point is: I don’t get excited about French movies often. I usually find them not worked enough, complacent and hiding their laziness behind intellectual pretense.

Today, I saw the movie “Welcome,” and what can I say? I was happy and proud to be French again, as our culture was able to produce a fine film. Ironically, half of the film is in English, but that’s not the point. It’s still a French production.

There is not one bit that disappointed me: the actors, the synopsis, the dialogs, the directing (simple, but so efficient !)… It all came together to deliver a powerful film.I really hope the French bits get translated and that the film exports itself overseas…

One Response to “Go see “Welcome,” by Philippe Lioret”

  1. Julien Says:

    I loved it!!!! Smart and simple.
    An efficient means to serve a powerful theme!!!

Leave a Reply

