Paul McKenna “I can make you thin” review – Take 2 – Days 11 to 12

This is my second attempt to follow the 4 principles of Paul McKenna “I can make you thin”. These are:

  1. When you are hungry, EAT
  2. EAT WHAT YOU WANT
  3. Eat CONSCIOUSLY and enjoy every mouthful
  4. When You Think You Are Full, STOP Eating

This relates a 30-day-trial experiment of the method.

***

Funny how it was so easy to get myself off the booze and how difficult I find it to prevent myself from eating when I’m not hungry.

Fortunately, I am still doing this trial, so that means I haven’t failed to follow the principles of the Paul McKenna method in the the past 12 days 🙂

***

The moments I am struggling the most with are when I am at work and under pressure; I can feel a strong compulsion in me to stuff myself with something… anything. It’s like a biological reflex. I look at it with some sort of fascination. I know that such a reaction is a learned process to deal with stress. But I have forgotten about the learning. I don’t even remember learning it. And this compulsion doesn’t feel like environmental conditioning at all… it feels like it comes from my body.

***

We are a society with an approach to food consumption that is not at all in tune with our hunger. Yesterday afternoon, I felt really hungry at work. (and real hungry, not stressed hungry 🙂 ) So I asked around if anyone had cookies, or anything, and somebody replied to me: “c’est pas bien de manger entre les repas”, i.e. “it is not good to eat between meals.” And here, it’s unclear whether “good” is to be understood as the opposite of evil, or as in “beneficial to your health”. But bottom line is she communicated to me the idea that even if I was hungry, I shouldn’t eat.

***

Listening to my hunger is not an easy process, because it is not a completely objective criteria. At least with other diets, when they give you lists and quantities of food to eat, or a number of calories to absorb, it’s easy to follow the guidelines because they are precise (if you manage to follow, but experience has taught me that I, and many other people, tend to not be able to follow).

Following the hunger is not objective. It involves gauging your own physical sensations. In the beginning, it seemed that my hunger was easily satisfied, and therefore I would eat very little. This scared me that I wasn’t eating enough. But when it came knocking again, I would eat, so I don’t think I am being unhealthy.

In the past 3-4 days, I have noticed that I have eaten more, as my stomach has asked for more. But I’ve been steadily losing weight. (I weigh myself everyday, despite the fact that Paul McKenna says I shouldn’t, it’s the one thing I’m not following).

Sometimes I am afraid that listening to hunger leaves too much room for negotiation with myself, and that I start eating because I just convinced myself that I was hungry.

That’s why I’m saying it is not an easy process. It involves learning to trust different parts of my body and to be very aware of my sensations.

One Response to “Paul McKenna “I can make you thin” review – Take 2 – Days 11 to 12”

  1. A Canadian Reader Says:

    I’m really glad I came back to check on what you were up to. I read your initial foray into Paul McKenna-land as I was starting the programme myself. It’s interesting to see that you’re doing it again. I will be watching with great interest.

    I have been “doing” McKenna for about 2 1/2 months. I won’t talk about results (although you can check them on my blog: newme-freshstart.blogspot.com), but I will say that the system is making me think a lot about the way I think and perceive my life and reality. Just for that, I’m glad I started.

    Bonne chance et bon courage.

Leave a Reply

