Paul McKenna “I can make you thin” review – Take 2 – Day 26

This is my second attempt to follow the 4 principles of Paul McKenna “I can make you thin”. These are:

  1. When you are hungry, EAT
  2. EAT WHAT YOU WANT
  3. Eat CONSCIOUSLY and enjoy every mouthful
  4. When You Think You Are Full, STOP Eating

This relates a 30-day-trial experiment of the method.

***

4 more days after tomorrow.

Hightlight of my day : getting shampooed at the hairdresser. As the water with mild-temperature flowed over my scalp, it grabbed all the stress and the anxieties of the day, and took them down the sink hole. The long and thin fingers of the hairdresser made the shampoo foam in my hair, as they gently massaged the sides of my head and my entire scalp from back to front. Work has been very fulfilling lately, but I’m also working a lot, putting in long hours, clearing off many tasks of my todo list and getting my different projects moving. The consequence of this is that I need to make moments for myself to wind down in the evening. Last night, I found out that one can watch entire episodes of the Daily Show with Jon Stewart, and the Colbert Report, on the Comedy Central website. But tonight, the 2 minutes of physical contact of the hands of the hairdresser while she shampooed me, totally succeeded in relaxing me.

That makes me think that the body is the gate to relaxing, not necessarily the mind. Actually, now that I think about it, a class on psychology at the work place that I took during the MBA specifically taught us that getting a massage is one of the most efficient ways to deal with pressure.

I’ve said that, lately, I’ve had a hard time coping with the fact that I don’t use overeating food as a response to stress any longer. This makes it hard to deal with my stress. If you think about it, overeating has an immediate impact on the body. But so does laughter… and so does another person’s hands on your body. A few days ago, someone told me that sports is also used as a stress relief.

I am realizing that I am not likely to be a superheroe whose mental strength can chase all the stress away, because there will always be situations and people around me that suck and make me go through a hard time. Therefore I want to be able to find those coping mechanisms that inspires me and that I look forward to doing everyday. I can’t possibly get a haircut everyday. Nor can I afford a massage everyday. So I am now facing that open question : what is it that I can realistically and happily do as often as possible to relieve myself from stress ?

2 Responses to “Paul McKenna “I can make you thin” review – Take 2 – Day 26”

  1. A Canadian Reader Says:

    How about taking a walk? Not complicated, gets your body moving, doesn’t cost anything (unless you’re into retail therapy–as I am, on occasion).

    BTW, I’m really enjoying your posts.

  2. Lily Says:

    A week ago, I told a therapist that I feel really great in my mind, but I feel that something is missing: I would like to take care of my health, my weight, my sleeping, my home. And he told me that it surely doesn’t come from the mind, but from the body. I answered: “but I don’t hear what my body says”, and he answered “I’m sure you do, I’m sure you sometimes hear that you are hungry or tired, you just don’t listen to it”. And it’s true, I remembered that I often get the feeling that I am tired, but I don’t go to sleep. Then he add that a way to better listen to the body, is to get a massage.

    He also said: for some people, the body is just something holding the head. And it made sense for me.

    I think that anything you can find to please your body will help to release your stress…

Leave a Reply

